Victim of the plague

animated_halloween_witchIt  feels like I’ve been sick forever. My pagan friends often push the herbal teas and homeopathic remedies, but I don’t have any luck with them.

Its important to remember, there is no cure for the common cold. Medicines do not kill the cold virus as much as works with your body to fight the infection, or to relieve the symptoms.

Your best hope is to avoid getting sick in the first place, and I have no idea how I caught this being we homeschool and haven’t been around anyone sick- as far as I know.

There are no remedies to cure the common cold or flu. You can treat the symptoms, and even that varies from person to person.

The best tip I can offer is that when you start to feel sick, take Zinc, about 50 micrograms, such as the Zinc lozenges you can find at a drug store. One such brand is Cold-Eeze.  Early studies showed this not only helps prevent people from getting sick, it can also shorten the cold time. I didn’t take the Zinc when I should, and I smack myself because of it.

Using a Neti Pot for AllergiesAnother method some friends swear by is a Neti Pot . This device rinses out the sinus passage, where the cold virus takes hold and multiplies. Using a saline solution kills tons of viruses and bacteria, and its said to help those who have allergies. I’m considering using this being I have allergies that leaves me stuffy all the time.

What do you do?

Here’s a video from CharmingPixieFlora on YouTube for a power and empowerment brew, but the ingredients she uses would also work very well for colds and flu. Ginger helps with nausea, and the hot tea will ease your symptoms.

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Reply

