Belated Beltane

IMG_0453 Beltane this year was a small, quiet affair but nevertheless enjoyable. I had four members of my Wiccan meetup join me. These members  bothered to show up at the previous meeting to help plan and organize, so I felt it fitting that they be the ones who gather for the ritual.

I’m not a huge fan of open circles, and I will tell you why; Open circles also opens the group to the whims of members who may not be on the same wavelength as others. Trying to plan a group of people for a celebration and ritual compares to a juggling act. I’ve been to ritual where people brought unexpected guests as well as members who just didn’t show up- even ones who meant to bring integral parts of the ritual such as the Mead or specific candles or ritual items.

Close circles allows for trust for the members who do show up.

Here in Maryland, the weather proves unreliable. As much as I’d love to do circle in my backyard (my husband got me a firepit last Christmas), it decided to rain. We had dinner first due to time constraints, and cast circle indoors afterwards around the dining room table instead. One member is new to this, so I explained the symbolism used to create sacred space. (if interested, I will post at a later date).

IMG_0325 For our focus to celebrate Beltane, we assembled windcatchers made from embroidery hoops and ribbon. Just sitting and chatting while putting these together was fun for me. It gave me a chance to talk to my fellow pagans, and just enjoy their company. Once we finished, we infused them with some scented oils, and what we wished to bring into our lives. We then would take them home to blow our wishes in the wind.

With this sort of craft, you can select any number of colors to represent the things you want in your life. I choose green for prosperity and growth, white for protection, and a pretty blue for empowerment. I also used Sandalwood, which often releases stress for me just by the light whiff of scent.

We then talked about our hopes and wishes, how magick works, what sort of things empowers us, and what we’ll be doing for the full moon ritual. Circle closed, and the new member admitted he really enjoyed the atmosphere and symbolism the religion offers.

Before everyone left, i challenged them to find a rock that will represent the thing they said holds them back; fear, jealousy, worry, etc, and carry it on their person until the next full moon. We’ll do ritual and release that trait as well as replacing it with something that will help overcome that trait. I challenge you, dear reader, to try it as well.

By carrying the rock on your person will illustrate how this fear, worry, anger, etc can impede your growth. Its a burden. It stands in the way of evolving and free movement (physically and spiritually). At the full moon, name this rock and throw it off a cliff or in a river (I’m conveniently located near a river).

I’ll post the ritual once we’ve done it.

2 responses to “Belated Beltane

  1. This sounds really nice. Thanks for sharing. I really like the thought about the rock and bringing real weight into your magick.

Leave a Reply

