Lammas Follow Up

sunflower2The Lammas celebration ended up being last minute in comparison to other sabbats. It still went off pretty well.

We ate dinner beforehand, cast a simple circle, started a small fire, and did some activities to honor the harvest.

Bragging and boasting– I love this practice from the Asatru traditions, where you pass a drinking horn and brag about the exploits of the year. I think its important to celebrate our accomplishments as individuals.

For myself, I’m proud of my writer’s meetup and my wiccan meetup. They have good people in them, the meetings are fun as well as productive. Members tell me how the groups help them get out of their shell, how it encourages them to learn and grow, and I’m glad I made that happen.

Praising– For a mild change, I also had the group take turns praising their fellow members. This can be tough with new members you just met (which we had) but everyone praised them for joining us.

The act of praising others also helps honor your fellow wo/man. It provides an opportunity to share good thoughts with someone else, and I think its these little acts that can stretch far to help another along their journey.

I found praise for my efforts in the group, for teaching, and one surprising comment included the relationship I have with my son. I was surprised someone felt that worthy to praise, being she recently met me, and I still have the warm fuzzies for hearing it.

Sacrifice of bad habits– I forgot pencils, so we opted to simply infuse the bad habits and blocks in our life to the pieces of paper we had. We then burned them in the cauldron, to turn them into light and warmth, and recycle to the Universe.

I sacrificed my overthinking, my fears of trying, my procrastination, and general sense of low self worth. Like clearing weeds, I hope to replace such things with courage, daring, pro-active attitude, and reminding myself that I’m awesome. Winking smile

Blessed be.

Leave a Reply

