Coming out

1284057719249730

I never liked the quip of ‘coming out of the broom closet’. I don’t use brooms, except for cleaning, and I wasn’t much for being in closets.

Pretty much, everyone  knows of my spiritual path. I don’t hide it. I also don’t shove it in people’s faces. I might wear a pentacle from time to time, but generally, I be myself- without the pagan trappings.

My family’s reaction was pretty much allowing me to believe as I wanted. All my father said when I was fifteen was ‘you don’t believe in all that hocus pocus nonsense, do you?’ but once I explained my beliefs, he was ok with it.

All my friends know, and I’m self employed. I don’t generally share my spirituality with my clients, but in a few cases I have and it was fine. One client was Catholic, and we often talk religion over coffee without it turning into a debate.

129265219173985Being open is not for everyone. You have to consider ramifications to ‘coming out’.

Will your family be supportive? Will they be angry? Will this build walls between family members/ Some families do take it poorly, and there’s nothing wrong with staying in silence to keep the peace.

Will it affect your job? I lost a job years ago when people found out I was pagan. I wasn’t fired for it, but they simply waited to find a reason to fire me. I learned the real reason from a co-worker that overheard the managers talking. There’s no reason at all to share your religion in the workplace- in my humble opinion.

How will this impact your life? Once out, its tough to go back in, so the decision to be honest should not be taken lightly.

Should you want to come out, take some advice;

  • Share your beliefs first before telling anyone you’re a witch, Wiccan, or pagan. Those labels often evoke negative reactions in people because of history and myths.
  • Don’t make it a debate. Taking any stance where you’re defending your belief or attacking someone else’s belief serves to alienate people. Have a ‘live and let live’ attitude, or ‘let’s agree to disagree’.
  • Be supportive and encouraging for other’s in their beliefs. You don’t have to agree with their beliefs, but recognize that spirituality is personal and often fulfills a need in people. If you expect them to accept your beliefs, you’ll have to accept their choices as well.

In summary, it’s a tough decision to come out to friends and family, but I personally do not feel there’s anything wrong with keeping it private if you need to keep the peace in the relationships in your life.

Should you decide to come out, be prepared for changes- both good and bad.

 

4 responses to “Coming out

  1. I love this post, I’m “inside the broomcloset” at the moment, and just yesterday I started thinking about connecting my pagan blog to facebook, so that people can read it. This post made me think a bit more about why I want to do that and if I am ready to take the consequences. And I think I probably am. I’m not going to do any hasty decisions, but this post helped me a bit more in what I want to do.

    Cheers..
    Vaettr from Opening The Broomcloset

  2. I truly hope so as well! Some know and I’ve only gotten positive reactions so far.. ❤

  3. Pingback: Pagan Dilemma – to Come Out or Not « Opening The Broomcloset

Leave a Reply

