October Blood Moon

imagesThe ‘blood moon’ may sound frightening, even ominous, but this was the time you made your preparations for winter. You finished your harvests, and culled the herbs so the meat could be salted.

This is also the first full moon after the harvests, also called the ‘Hunter’s Moon’, when the time of year is best for hunt for migrating birds.

Many of us don’t have herds to cull. We do, however, have things in our lives which we can’t carry through the winter. These could be anything from relationships that drag us down,, to having too much stuff in our homes, to even bad habits.

October is a time to decide what stays and what should go. Ask yourself, if the person, place, or thing beneficial or is it time to let it go?

I’ve seen a very fat groundhog a few weeks ago, and friends comment on the deer also having thick coats. This may very well imply a hard, cold winter, so be prepared:

Winterizing your home.

Winterizing your car.

Find a new hobby. (To keep your mind sharp in the winter)

My own list is pretty simple;

  • I want to learn how to knit/crochet.

learntoknit.lionbrand.com/

  • I want to learn Spanish.

 www.mocha.org

  • I want to finish writing the novel I’ve been working on, as well as finish other writing projects.

The NaNoWriMo Alternative Challenge

I hope to cull my fear of failure and fear of success. Its weird, I know, but its something that hangs over my head all the time.

What will you cull from your life, and what will your plan in the winter?

One response to “October Blood Moon

  1. This post gave me some thought, there are things I need to cull from my life and I need to change a lot of things. I just need to figure out if it’s the right thing, what’s best for me and what I should do about it.

    Thank you for this wonderful post!

Leave a Reply

