Kids and Wicca/Witchcraft

The other day, I received an email from a 14 year old teen asking to be taught Wicca. She contacted me because I organize a local meetup group for Wiccans (and also pagans) We are not, however, a teaching group as much as a group for social networking.

I’m also nervous about teaching someone so young for two reasons;

1. If my son wanted to learn a religion at the age of 14, I’d want to know about it, and I’d want to know who the teacher was, and what they were teaching.

and

2. Many 14 year olds tend to be intrigued with the trappings and magical elements more than spiritual aspects. (This is coming from experience).

So I’m reluctant to take on any students under the age of 14 unless the parents contact me, and even then, I’m not keen on it.

Most covens also won’t accept kids under the age of 18 without written permission from their parents. Some covens won’t accept kids at all, while other are family friendly.

Real young kids can often disrupt ritual, so if you join a group that allows children, please respect the rules and common manners.

I’m curious as to your, the readers, thoughts on this subject, or your experiences. My own is that I lean toward not having kids in ritual. I’ve been in groups where kids disrupted and distracted if not acted plain rude. As I have a son, who attended ritual, he will mind his manners. I expect other parents do mind their own kids as well.

What are your thoughts?

Book of Shadows Assignment: Journal your thoughts on your past beliefs and how they differ now. Consider the principles of belief or other teachings of paganism and how they challenge you. Add to your Book of Shadows. A year from now, you will do the same, and compare your beliefs between now and then.

 

2 responses to “Kids and Wicca/Witchcraft

  1. Childhood: Praying to the moon and the christian god
    14-18: Christian
    18-20-ish: Some weird hinduistic-satanistic mix.
    20-: Eclectic paganism
    And my path is still going, I have just begun my new journey.

  2. Pingback: The pitfalls of teaching the young. - BaedonWebz

Leave a Reply

