Do you imbibe?

-I’m not much of a drinker. Some might say I’m a wuss when it comes to holding my liquor, and that’s fine. Its true. two drinks, and I’m at my limit.

So when rituals have mead or ale available, in the cakes and ale ceremony, I’m fine to sip and pass the cup. I do think, however, if you run a group or organize a ritual, you should consider those who might not imbibe.

An alcoholic shouldn’t even taste mead or ale, while others might have problems with drinking anything alcoholic. I knew someone who got terrible headaches from wine, for instance.

Remember also that too much drink at any gathering offers its own problems with people getting drunk. Whoever is  host falls to being the responsible person to make sure everyone gets home safely.

Underage drinking can also be a problem, so be sure to follow the laws of your state.

You should probably concern yourself with the contents of the cakes as well. Those who have dietary restrictions might not be able to consume a cookie, cake, or other treat at the end of ritual Diabetics need to be careful with sugar, while those who have Celiac disease can’t consume gluten. Some members might have food or even fruit allergies. People can die from a peanut allergy.

Vegetarians do not eat meat, while vegans cannot consume eggs, milk, butter, or honey. (so mead may not be an option for them).

So before ritual, take care with some of these tips;

Post a menu up before the ritual. I find many people with diet restrictions often bring their own foods or speak up with concern.

If something is homemade, make sure to have the recipe and ingredient list on hand. This is a good idea even without food concerns because I’ve been to feasts where I seriously wanted a recipe of something I tried at the ritual.

Welcome new foods and drinks. I love trying new foods. I love couscous, mead, and roast goose- all of which were first sampled at sabbat gatherings.

Have natural foods available. I often have fruit, vegetables, and water (or tea) for those with diet restrictions. 

Allow for refusal. Its should be perfectly ok to refuse any food or drink after ritual. This is where I often check with members to see if they want to bring something for themselves.

Leave a Reply

