Working out negative energy through running

I can’t say I enjoy exercising. I have to force myself to get out of the house to do anything, and my dog, Pepper, provides the much needed motivation to do so.

playball

Pepper is a happy mutt; half Australian Shepherd, and half Australian Cattle Dog.  My dog is extremely smart, and also extremely active. Her favorite games are chase the ball (and she brings it back every time), chasing (and never catching) rabbits, and running alongside me when I take her down to the river.

IMG_1594 (374x500)

Today I realize along my walk/jog by the river, I enjoy this time. It works out pent up stress and frustrations, letting me work out negative emotions in a positive way. I listen to my tunes, losing myself in a meditative type thought process that often gives me story ideas, new projects, or just thoughts on various topics. Pepper keeps alert for me.

I think the important point I wanted to share in this post is that you need to find something that you enjoy with an activity. We need to heal and strengthen our bodies as well as spirits and heart, and by taking up some sort of exercise program, you gain so many benefits;

  • Balances blood sugar levels.
  • Increases white blood cells, therefore improving the immune system.
  • Improves Serotonin (the happy chemical in your brain) levels so it improves mood.
  • Improves sleep (balances the brain chemicals)
  • Helps with weight issues. Not only can exercise help burn calories while you’re doing the exercise, you often burn more calories afterwards, and if you improve muscle tone, you increase your metabolism so you’re burning calories even while you sleep.

IMG_1675And don’t forget the ‘runner’s high’ you feel if you stick with a cardio workout, which I’ve only experienced a few times. And although it was a ‘high’ today, it felt really good working out my issues by running along the C&O canal, listening to the birds singing, and enjoying the lovely scenery going by.

I only have to be careful if my dog should see a rabbit…she’s taken off, dragging me along with her, once.

Leave a Reply

