Sharing some happiness tips

apartment

I was cruising, surfing, and otherwise skipping through the Internet the other day when I happened upon this article on the idea of 10 Simple Things to Make You Happier at Home.

I’ve tried a number of things already on this list. For instance, I found making my bed makes absolutely no difference to my well being whatsoever. Its also common that I do for others without expecting thanks, and that simply promotes ingratitude in others, if you ask me.

IMG_0285I like, however, the idea of surrounding yourself with mementos.  Research shows that our happiness grows from memories of events, not the objects themselves. Putting up photos, or a jar of sand collected from a trip to the beach, reminds us daily those moments of joy in our lives.

IMG_1713I also agree with ‘if you can’t get out of it, get into it’, with the idea that you might as well make best of a situation. I don’t like dishes, but I use that time to listen to my Ipod and daydream on creative projects or stories I want to write.  Or picking berries, which is way too similar to ‘work’, but I found tons of neat bugs to take photos of, as well as spending time with my family.

What are your thoughts on ‘keys to  happiness’? Do you have tips? Do you do any of the things on the list, or do you have your own methods to surrounding yourself with happiness. Post in comments.

WordPress Tags: , , , , ,
Leave a Reply

