Pagan bling and pride

blessed

One of the handy things about pagans who wear their jewelry openly, is that it advertises who they are. I can’t tell you how often I’ve met someone who said they liked my necklace (no, not the one in the picture) and we hit it off as pagan friends.

The down side is that it can also add conflicts, such as in the workplace, or family gatherings you know your pentacle or other jewelry might offend someone. Generally I wear my pentacle and other ‘bling’ under my clothes if I deal with a customer (I’m self employed). Not that I am ashamed, but I don’t want others to assume things of me without the benefit of a conversation.

This is not to say I think its healthy to be ‘in your face’ with your religion either. You wouldn’t want someone doing that to you, and taking any form of aggressive stance serves only to add to conflict, not open a person up for discussion, debate, let alone acceptance.

I can honestly say that by taking the approach of respectful distance earned me respect from others. It offered opportunities to state my beliefs, without argument, and in some cases, coworkers and strangers were more intrigued than turned off.

What are your thoughts? Wear it proud, or do you have certain rules for yourself in wearing jewelry? Post in comments.

2 responses to “Pagan bling and pride

  1. Some people wear jewelry for themselves, some as a statement to others, and still others as a combination of the two things. I don’t think there is a right reason, but I choose to keep the pendant that I wear (a fairly inoffensive green man) under my shirt while I’m at work. I have no desire to get into religious discussions with my customers and the feel of the pendant against my skin helps to ground me when things get hectic.

  2. Any beads or pendants I wear, I wear for myself. I do wear them outside my clothing, but believe this to be the choice of the wearer, depending on family life or business. I, however, would rather not have anything to do with someone who discriminates against my religious or philosophical practices.

Leave a Reply

