Some Easter/Ostara Basket Ideas

IMG_0424  Someone once asked me which holiday I celebrate; Easter or Ostara? My answer? Both. Why choose? Being pagan doesn’t mean we can’t recognize, celebrate, and even respect another spiritual path, and if there’s fun activities, I’m all for it!

Here are some of my tips for Easter basket traditions;

You don’t necessarily need a basket. I’ve used a sand bucket and even a big dump truck to put stuff in. My son loved it. Girls might appreciate something like a pretty box, purse, or even tote. Personally, I don’t discriminate gender and would’ve loved a dump truck filled with stuff.

I prefer the paper grass rather than the plastic. I had a cat that liked to eat the stuff, so I gave up buying the plastic. Now I make my own grass out of shredded paper.  You can also buy paper Easter grass , or find even Edible Easter Grass.

Add breakfast food. I added one of those small cereal boxes or fresh baked muffins for my son to eat for Easter breakfast. Sometimes fruit like oranges or grapes also balanced the junk food.

Add the special candy. The thing that’s best about any holiday, in my humble opinion, is the special flavors and candy that comes out then. I love Peeps, Reese peanut butter eggs, and the Cadbury Crème eggs. You might also want to find a candy bulk section in a store to find weird flavors or unique candy. Last Christmas, I found this nut and raisin candy coated stuff that had a weird Nutmeg and Cinnamon flavor. It was awesome.

Add toys!  My son generally got action figures, Hot Wheel cars and some sort of art or craft item. I would also add some books for him (since we read every single night). I would also get him a new stuffed toy. Remember, it doesn’t need to be rabbit-related.

Add blessings. This could be a fun idea for kids to do the night before; have them write out all the blessings they appreciate in life, to leave for the Easter bunny, and they get the stuff in their baskets in return.

What basket ideas do you traditionally do for the holiday? Post in comments.

One response to “Some Easter/Ostara Basket Ideas

  1. You’re right about not needing a traditional Easter basket. This year I got my stuff in a laundry basket, which I’m really pleased about. It’s something I know I’ll actually use, so that’s nice.

Leave a Reply

