The 2014 New Year

pentaaclesm

The history of calendars fascinates me, as our 365 days are not perfect. We end up with more or less time to keep track of. The Leap Year takes care of it to a point, but in past calendars, accommodating the imperfect year shifted to adding or removing days.

Its sort of silly to have January 31st as New Year’s Eve, and while some pagans recognize October 31st as the New Year, our society recognizes the end of December as the official shift to the new year.

Either way, I like taking the time to make New Year’s Resolutions. So with the New Year, I like to consider the goals I want to accomplish in the year ahead.

I pick less than 10 goals. Having more than that lends to failing, and lack of focus. Sticking to fewer, and therefore, more important goals, lets me focus on what needs to be done.

I never beat myself for not accomplishing goals. I recognize why I didn’t accomplish the goal. This generally means its something I really didn’t want to do after all, or that I need to change my tactics to reach that goal. (It took me a long time to stop biting my fingernails…for instance).

I will count all successes as successes, even if I didn’t originally have them as goals. I deserve that recognition. Winking smile 

I ask myself if it’s the goal will move me forward in life. This helps me recognize what’s important, and what’s not the best for me.

I try to be specific on how I want to accomplish goals- without caging myself into doing it just one way. Being flexible allows me to try new methods to reach goals. The end justifies the means.

So far, my goals including publishing a novel length book, expanding my business, losing weight (that always manages to be on my list), and to be more goal-oriented for this coming year.

What are your goals? Do you set them in December or October? Do you find success each year? Do you not bother? Post in comments.

If you liked this post, please like and share.

new years resolution,goals,successes,Wicca,witch,

Leave a Reply

