The Power of the Attitude Change

015

After so long of seeing no results or receiving luck, I’ve been experimenting on myself by trying to change my attitude, to improve my idea of self-worth, and that I have the power to change what I feel in various situations. Attitude is everything.

“If you can’t get out of it, get into it”- This quote I found on the Internet. I’m not sure who originally said it, but it struck a chord in me, that it implied I had this super power to change my attitude towards doing something I didn’t really want to do.

In some things, I found this was easy. For instance, I don’t like dishes. Its not something I hate, but I’d rather not do them.  So, while washing dishes, I tend to let my mind wander during the redundant action of cleaning dishes. I will sometimes blast my favorite music. I’ve been known to dance while doing dishes. Other times, my mind wanders to stories, rattling in my head, that want to be written, or perhaps a craft project I want to do someday. It makes the work easier, the time passes quicker, and sometimes I feel I’m putting Order back into my life.

Doing any chore and complaining, or wallowing in the thought of how much you detest it, serves to make the time more miserable. You’re focusing, feeding that bad energy.  If it must be done, why not find some way of getting it done, or better still, enjoying yourself while doing it?

This might be difficult in some jobs, but others can end up being fun. Folding laundry with my son when he was little involved sock puppets, and fun experiments with static electricity. Even shoveling snow provoked games where we pretended to be snow plows. Mopping the floor, and I’m envisioning cleaning not just the dirt (and slaughtering dust bunnies) but cleaning the negativity in my house, removing the bad energies. Its very cathartic.

Studies on the topic of happiness also show that changing one’s attitude, even synthesized happiness, serves the same health benefits, and offer you real happiness.

It might take practice. I’m still a work-in-progress, and catch myself complaining. I’m trying to change that, and I’ll post results in a few months. I do see a shift already starting, where things don’t seem as bad as they are, and Life seems brighter.

Book Of Shadows in Deep Red with Pentagram 3 Ring BinderBook of Shadows Assignment: Journal about what you’re grateful for, what things in your life are blessings. Some things might not be things one would initially appreciate, but I am grateful for even the tough times, for they make me stronger.

Leave a Reply

