A Suggested Reading List

Lately, I happen upon blogs and vloggers who mentions their favorite pagan authors, so I figured, I’d post some of my own. As an added note, I think its important to read many books, even if they suck, so you understand the difference, and to see the different views out there.

Drawing Down the Moon , by Margot Adler was the first pagan book I read when I was 14 years old.  I remember feeling as though all the beliefs and practices she mentioned made perfect sense; that I found ‘my people’.

Margot Adler is a NPR correspondent, a priestess of the Covenant of the Goddess, and a Unitarian.

Starhawk, born Miriam Simos, wears many hats as a pagan author. She is a columnist for Wicca on Beliefnet.com, and works with the Reclaiming Tradition. A pro-active feminist and environmentalist, she includes action with ritual and words. The Spiral Dance was the first book I’ve read, but I’ve also read (and recommend) Truth or Dare , and Dreaming the Dark .

Doreen Valiente was an influential English Wiccan who worked with Gerald Gardner. She expanded The Wiccan Rede and helped shape the Wiccan belief systems we know today. She’s known as the “Mother of Modern Witchcraft’ for her input and influences.

And more:

A Witches’ Bible by Janet and Stewart Farrar. You can find many books written on paganism/Wicca by them as well, but I think this is a good starter book.

Merlin Stone’s book, When God Was a Woman , covers history of ancient cultures and their worship of goddesses. She is a professor of art history, a sculpture, and author.

Do you have favorite authors? Add in comments. I’ll add more when I find them.

One response to “A Suggested Reading List

  1. Pingback: Diana Rajchel » A sobering look at best-selling Pagan titles

Leave a comment